- Ground Floor
- First Floor
- Second Floor
Upper Drawing Room
This was the Upper Drawing Room according to the late 19th century inventories. When the Hall was divided into flats for R.A.F. officers during the Second World War, this was a sitting room which, along with the Green Bedroom and the Kitchen and Yellow Bathroom, which you will see next, made up one of the first floor flats.
The fine curved walnut commode inlaid with bone is North Italian of about 1760. Beatrice Carpenter designed the Arts & Crafts cabinets inlaid with tiny birds. Above is a delightful plaster relief plaque by Ellen Mary Rope of a May Day procession.
A portrait of Frances, Countess of Bellomont, by John Michael Wright hangs over the fireplace, with Berlin wool work floral panels on either side. To the left are portraits of Alfred Chetwynd-Talbot, Bridget’s father, and her elder brother, Humphrey. On the wall to the left is a large watercolour of Gertrude Talbot by Edward Clifford and a charming mid-19th century painting of the Hall from the south, purchased by the Friends of Kiplin Hall in 2004.
Three of Mrs Carpenter’s watercolour copies of Old Masters hang in this room. To the left of the commode is part of Romney’s painting of Emma, Lady Hamilton, Spinning (the original is at Kenwood, London). On the opposite wall is a Virgin and Child with Saints Jerome and Francis by Perugino and Dürer’s Portrait of his Father, both in the National Gallery, London.
To the right of the windows is a fascinating painting of a large crowd gathered on the village green at Scorton, two miles to the north of Kiplin. The occasion appears to be a celebration of the Reform Act of 1832. The Earl and Countess of Tyrconnel are shown behind the horse-drawn vehicle in the right foreground.