- Ground Floor
- First Floor
- Second Floor
Newly opened this year.
This room, previously closed to the public, has been restored during the winter and is now filled with furniture, paintings and souvenirs from around the world, brought to the Hall by some of its globe-trotting previous owners.
The room is beuatifully light and looks west across the lake towards Wensleydale. The centrepiece is an extravagant late 18th century gilded Italian bed with a remarkable combination of carvings, including the Medici crest, the Hapsburg double-headed eagle, Talbot hounds and mythological figures. The Talbot link is that the last male owner of the Hall, Admiral Walter Cecil Carpenter, was the second son of Henry John Chetwynd Talbot, the 18th Earl of Shrewsbury. Under the terms of the 1868 will in which Walter inherited Kiplin from Lady Tyrconnel, he was obliged to change his name to her husband’s name of Carpenter. The last owner of the Hall was Miss Bridget Talbot, Admiral Carpenter’s niece. Beautiful Arts and Crafts hangings, shown in a 1970s’ photograph, have been repaired and again adorn the bed.
Among the other items on display in this delightful bedroom are extraordinarily detailed paintings of Japanese ships filled with busy people, a colourful Chinese ancestor painting of two Mandarin ladies, a beautiful early 17th century Italian oil painting of Mary Magdalen, inlaid chairs from India, an English Chinoiserie screen filled with charming figures, a nineteenth century sextant and two telescopes, one extremely large made by the leading manufacturers of the day, Dollond of London, which was established in 1750 and later became half of the Dollond and Aitchison partnership.
In a fitting complement to the Travellers’ Bedroom, an early 19th century globe has just been returned to its rightful place in the Library.